Thirty-Two New Chancellor’s Associates Named

Category: News

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has named 32 community leaders, alumni, and university volunteers as Chancellor’s Associates.

The associates were each appointed to a three-year term in the program, which seeks to cultivate and enhance greater public understanding and support between the university and the greater Knoxville community.

The new members join 49 others along with chairperson George Ewart (’88) and immediate past chair Louise Frazier (’78).

The Chancellor’s Associates program was formed in 1972, and its members are involved, informed, and willing to assist in articulating UT’s mission, vision, and goals. They meet regularly with Chancellor Donde Plowman as well as vice chancellors, deans, students, and administrators.

“We’re excited to welcome these new Chancellor’s Associates to the program and are grateful for their willingness to serve in this important role,” said Chip Bryant, vice chancellor for advancement. “Chancellor’s Associates have long been vital in forming connections between UT and the community.”

The new Chancellor’s Associates for 2020 are:
  • Eric Abelquist (’08, ’14)
    ORAU, Executive Vice President and Chief Research Officer
  • Karyn Altshuler (’85)
    Community Volunteer
  • Robert Baird
    FirstBank, Senior Vice President
  • Gabe Bolas II (’94, ’01)
    Knoxville Utilities Board, President and CEO
  • John Brock (’93, ’96)
    Brock PLC, Attorney
  • Jeffrey (Jeff) Cheek
    Countryside Tire & Auto Service, Owner
  • Dave Clark (’85, ’89, ’89)
    7th Judicial District Attorney General’s Office, District Attorney General
  • Christian Corts
    BB&T–Knoxville, Regional President
  • Denise Dean
    East Tennessee Freedom School, Executive Director
  • William Eversole (’73)
    Bandspeed Inc., Former CEO and President
  • Ron Fuchs
    Boldsquare, Founding Partner
  • Erin Gill
    City of Knoxville, Deputy to Mayor Kincannon and Chief Policy Officer
  • Helen Harb (’84)
    Pureline Printing, President/Owner/Founder
  • Mark Heinz (’94)
    Dewhirst Properties, Architect and Developer
  • Sterling Henton (’92)
    Rev It Up LLC, President and CEO
  • John Hoffman
    UT Knoxville, Retired Lecturer in Management
  • Tom Hughes (’91)
    The Hughs Properties—Realty Executives, Owner/Realtor
  • Michael Kohl (’96, ’99)
    Pinnacle Financial Partners, Senior Vice President
  • Robert Loggins
    Bush Brothers & Co., Manager of Recruiting and Organizational Development
  • Steve McGrew
    Cornerstone of Recovery, CEO and CFO
  • Sanford Miller
    Emerald Youth Foundation, Director of Sports Ministry and FCA Urban Outreach
  • Sam Mishu
    M&M Development Co., President and CEO
  • Denetria Moore
    Girl Talk, Inc., Founder, Executive Director
  • Susana Navarro-Valenti
    Navarro Research, President and CEO
  • Jim Nichols
    Red Door Brokers, Realtor, Broker, and Owner
  • Matt Ryerson
    United Way of Greater Knoxville, President and CEO
  • Ashley Saunders (’10)
    UCOR, Chief of Staff
  • Tommy Smith (’06)
    Ackermann Marketing and PR, Vice President of Marketing Strategy
  • Robert Threlkeld
    Threlkeld Homes/Keller Williams Realty, Principal
  • Chad Tindell (’87)
    Lacy, Price and Wagner PC, Attorney
  • Robin Wilhoit
    WBIR, Anchor
  • John Winemiller (’00)
    Merchant & Gould, Attorney, Shareholder, Office Managing Partner