Latino Alumni Council

Founded in 2015, the Latino Alumni Council’s mission is to advance the university and enrich the lives of students by engaging alumni and friends. Together, we will reach our mission by utilizing our fundamental values: Traditions, Collaboration, Integrity, Inclusion, and Innovation.


Develop and oversee engagement opportunities for alumni and current students

Outreach to enhance data integrity and stay connected to alumni

Encourage alumni donors and enhance donor stewardship

A student from the Latin American Student Organization, is mentored by Maria Martinez, coordinator for JCLS, Latina staff member and alumna.

Join the Council

Did you know that more than 2,200 UT alumni who graduated from the Knoxville campus identify themselves as Latino or Latina?

The council is comprised of graduates who serve a two-year term. Members are expected to make an annual gift of any size to UT, join two annual meetings, and participate in annual campus programs.

Applications are accepted annually in May, and members are selected by August.

If you have any questions about the council, please contact Phyllis Moore, senior director of alumni programs, at

Aimee Miramontes Watson (’98, ’00), President
Paul Carrasco (’11)
Mary Duenas
Mark Estrada (’07)
Steven Gomez (’07)
Ramon Gonzalez (’95)
Sarah Jones (’10)
Luis Mata (’21)
Reysheid Mata (’08)
Chris Pabon (’94)
Deborah Penchoff (’14)
Martin Vargas (’08)

Aimee Watson (’98, ’00) currently resides in Annville, PA and is employed by St. Onge Company, an independent industrial engineering/supply chain firm, as a Senior Project Manager focused on healthcare operations and new construction. A member the council now for three years, Aimee is a member of the AHRMM and has served her local community for the last eight years. Serving on the Latino Alumni Council provides an avenue to reconnect with her alma mater and to give back by fostering relationships amongst alumni and students.

Latino Alumni Council Scholarship Fund

Support the Latino Alumni Council Scholarship Fund