Army ROTC Alumni Council Hall of Fame Adds 8 New Members

Category: Communities | News

Eight new members were added to the University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s Army ROTC Alumni Council Hall of Fame, marking its sixth class. The new inductees and one inductee from the 2020 class were honored at a dinner on November 11 and included veterans from the Vietnam War to the War on Terror.

Military service is intrinsic to the name Volunteer. UT’s dragoons volunteered to fight alongside thousands of Tennesseans in the Mexican–American War, when Tennessee fully embraced its title as the Volunteer State. The alumni and honorary members who make up this year’s Army ROTC Alumni Council Hall of Fame class carry on this Tennessee tradition. They were selected for their notable service to their country and communities, distinguishing themselves both in their military and civilian careers.

“These eight most recent inductees, like all ROTC graduates, chose to put their country and service first before self,” said retired Brigadier General Geoffrey A. Freeman, a 1978 UT graduate and president of the Army ROTC Alumni Council. “They represent the finest examples of the Volunteer spirit and they truly understood what it means to be a Volunteer. It is most appropriate that we celebrate their service and sacrifice.”

2022 Hall of Fame Inductees
  • Colonel Darcy A. Brewer, retired (’85)
  • Colonel Richard C. Kaniss, retired (’76)
  • Lieutenant Colonel George P. Lachicotte III, retired (’00)
  • Colonel Gregory S. McMillan, retired (’88)
  • Colonel Jim D. Moore, retired (’80)
  • Colonel Charles D. Safley, retired (’73)
  • Larry L. Taylor (’66)
  • Lieutenant General James J. Mingus (honorary member)
2020 Hall of Fame Inductee
  • Lieutenant Colonel Mark E. Ballew, retired (’86)
View more photos from the event on Flickr:
2022 Army ROTC Hall of Fame Dinner