Skip to content

Young Alumni Council

Support the Young Alumni Scholarship


The Young Alumni Council (YAC) is a group of 40 volunteer leaders who help advance the university and enrich the lives of students and recent graduates through programming, philanthropy, social and professional networking opportunities, and student and volunteer recruitment. These opportunities assist young alumni in their transition from a collegiate to professional career and engage them for a lifetime relationship with their alma mater.

Each YAC member serves on one of five committees:

  • Campus Relations(Knoxville-area events)
  • Student and Alumni Engagement Committee (Regional Events & Programs)
  • Membership
  • Marketing and Outreach
  • Philanthropy

Each member of the 40-person council serves a two-year term, with an option to remain on the council for a third year.

YAC Presidents:

  • 2008–2010: David Leaverton (’99 & ’00)
  • 2010–2012: Scott Coop (’04)
  • 2012–2013: Wade Stonebrook ('06)
  • 2013–2014: Billy Haley (’06)
  • 2014–2016: Micah Johnson ('11)
  • 2016–2017: Alan Moore ('06, & '10)
  • 2017: George Shields ('07, '14)